Permission To Change!

Early this year, while training for a half-marathon that I would run in April, I signed up for the Detroit International Half-Marathon. I was sure I’d be able to run the half in April, take a couple of months easy, then ramp back up for the October race. I ran the half in April and it was a bit of a struggle. I’d had to do most of my training on my treadmill, but I’d gotten outside in late March and early April for the really long runs. I ran the race, no walking, and was happy to finish strong, if a bit slow.

Then summer came and my daughter played softball and travel basketball…fitting in a few small runs a week was a challenge. When that was behind me, I dutifully started into the Hal Higdon Half-Marathon Training Plan. I was fine for about the first half of the training, but then several physical setbacks got in my way in completing the long, weekend runs. At one point, I decided I could leap-frog the training and catch back up. That worked, until I had more setbacks.

Finally, I was faced with a decision…run the race even though the most I’d run in my training was six miles, or decide not to run the race. Now, I know I can gut it out…mind over matter, but why? I’ve decided not to run the race. Instead, I’m going to redirect my energy. It’s amazing how much more easily I can slip on my running shoes for a three-mile run than for a six to ten-mile run. The shorter runs are not only easier to schedule, but are energizing rather than draining.

With the specter of exhausting runs behind me, I’ve got time and energy to get back to my 50 by 50…or even to expand beyond that. National Novel Writing Month is coming up fast…I know I’ve tried/failed for many Novembers to get my novel down on paper, but this year I took a new step. This summer, I went to Northwestern University and attended a book writing conference. I have a lot of ideas about how to re-start and re-write my novel to make it better.

I’m feeling renewed energy to do the Holidays up right this year…my kids are getting older and starting to leave the nest…but not too far yet. They are still all home for the Holidays. So, I have pumpkins to buy, Christmas card photos to take, holiday fixings to plan, and in about a month, a Christmas tree to put up.

Mostly, though, I am gearing up to make a big change…and I give myself permission to change; to pursue a new course in my second adulthood. More about that later, but I will say that finally figuring out what I want to be when I “grow up” is liberating and exciting.

So, here’s to good health and good exercise habits, here’s to knowing my limits, here’s to trying new things…

Find the Joy in the Journey…and the Joy in finding that path that leads to your own road less traveled!

 

Leave a Reply

