The “Mom” Playlist

The day started out like any other lazy Sunday, until the power abruptly went out. It was a calm, sunny day today, so no obvious reason for it to go out. There were storms a couple of days ago that knocked out power in hundreds of thousands of homes, though, so I wasn’t hopeful of a quick fix. I could tell that the neighbors lost power too.

Meanwhile, my daughter was missing one of her middle school friends and asked if I’d drive her to the friend’s to spend the day and then come back and pick her up several hours later. I had no real plans, so I agreed. Her friend lives about a half hour away, it was an hour of my time to take her. She took her iPad with her to charge it, even though it was already 97% charged…she has to have it for school and  isn’t allowed to charge it there.

Back at home, I did something I haven’t indulged much in lately…I read a book. No electricity was required and the sun provided lots of natural light. I was happy that I’d done all of the laundry yesterday, so no worries about the work/school week…surely the power would be back on soon enough. Five hours into it, however, I thought I should call the electric company and find out when the power would be back on. I learned a thing or two. First of all, no one had called in the power outage in my neighborhood…no one. Second, the electric company knew about the outage and its likely cause (a fuse). When the power came on two hours later, I learned a third thing…they didn’t bother with the outage until someone complained.

I got through the book, then it was time to pick up my daughter. I drove out to get her and then stayed for a few minutes to admire the videos the girls had made on their phones. We were about five miles on the way toward home, when my daughter got a text from her friend…she’d left her iPad behind. At this point, my happy nature took a turn for the grumpy. As I found a turnaround and headed back to her friend’s, I complained about how I didn’t like spending all of my free time in the car so that she could enjoy a visit with her friend, and forgetting her iPad meant that I was spending well over two hours all together.

Just then, Neon Lights by Demi Levato came on the radio and I was instantly a bit happier. I smiled and started singing along. Then I got suspicious…I asked her if she had put the song on because she knew I liked it and she said yes. Then, I got annoyed and said I didn’t appreciate being manipulated. She explained to me that she played it because she knew I was upset, not at her, but at the situation, and she wanted me to feel better. That was when I learned that she has a playlist called “Mom”.

There are only three songs on “Mom”. Neon Lights is oneThe second one is Lego House by Ed Sheeren. These two songs I’ve heard many times because my daughter plays them a lot. They are not in any playlist of my own, but if I started a playlist of songs my daughter plays that I like, they’d be on it. The third song turned out to be Build a Bird House In Your Soul by They Might Be Giants. This is a song that I was trying to get her to remember recently. I told her I liked it and my radio station used to play it a lot, but not anymore. She couldn’t recall it, so she downloaded it. Then she remembered it and apparently, with no where else to place it, she put it in the “Mom” playlist.

So, there I am. I’m not sure if I want “mom” to expand and take on more of a true reflection of me, or if I’d rather see how it grows organically. I’m thinking the latter is more interesting.

Find the Joy in the Journey…and the knowledge that the journey doesn’t always take you where you plan to go, but a good playlist can make any journey more enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

