No Time To Be Tired–Time To Train!

I have been struggling to keep myself on track with my training choices. I am signed-up for a half-marathon in mid-October, and although I’ve been running, I haven’t been training or even running on any consistent schedule. Instead, I’ve been focused on how tired I am trying to keep up with my youngest child who just started high school miles from home and work.

Last night, I came home from work, put on my running gear..and ran. Just the 5k circuit through my neighborhood, but enough. I didn’t feel like doing it. I didn’t particularly enjoy it while I was doing it…but, in the end, it was good. As I walked back home, Eye of the Tiger came up on my iPod. As adrenaline rushed through me, I thought of a different tiger, one on a cereal box…yes, I felt GREAT!

Today, I finally looked up the Hal Higdon half-marathon training plan. It’s what I used for my first half…which I extended to three half-marathons last fall. I also used it to train for a half-marathon this spring. But, this last one, I hadn’t bothered to follow any plan…I was too busy. I counted out the weeks until my race, which is on October 19th…five and a half weeks. I looked down at the training plan to see that I should already have built up to eight miles for my weekly long run. This past Saturday, I set out to run six miles, but due to the heat and a poor hydration strategy (strategy: I don’t need to bring water for a run under 8 miles), I ran out of steam after four miles. I did run six miles the prior two weekends, so I’m not completely behind, but I do have some catching up to do.

I also should be running three consecutive days during the week and should have built up to five miles on the second day. So, with a three-mile run under my belt from last night, I set out for a four-mile run tonight. I could feel the stress on my legs by the end, which I take as a good sign. I’m getting prepared for the long run on Saturday. I’ll have to modify the rest of the plan a little so that I can train to the best of my ability by the race. So, I won’t be running any smaller races, I’ll instead progress over the next five weeks to run eight, nine, ten, eleven, and twelve miles for my long runs. If that proves to be too difficult, I’ll train to a maximum of ten miles. Either way it’s a little daunting, but it serves me right for being lazy about my training.

I have time to catch up, I just need to do it. Now that I’m adjusting to my new schedule, it’s starting to get easier. My runs over the last two days have reminded me that I feel better when I run on a regular basis. So, even though tonight I had to squeeze in the run after work, before errands, and before a late dinner, it was worth it.  Now if I can just get back to the gym.

Find the Joy in the Journey…

Leave a Reply

