Motivating Myself To De-Clutter

While I didn’t actually de-clutter my entire house while I was off of work last week, and I didn’t even completely de-clutter the main living areas, I did manage to make a dent in it…all on Sunday night. Yes, I waited all week doing nothing, then rushed to sort, throw out, and put away as much as possible. Why the last minute full-press? I’d bought an Angie’s List Big Deal with my preferred cleaning company and they were coming Monday morning. What else?

Sometimes (all the time?) I have to put myself on the spot to get anything done. I sign up for races so that I’ll keep running and I keep buying those big deals so that I’ll continue to work on de-cluttering my house. It’s a sneaky technique, but it does work. I got up this morning and continued my cleaning blitz so that the cleaning people could actually get a vacuum across the rug and a dust cloth across the horizontal surfaces.

The ultimate goal with the house is to be so organized that I don’t need a cleaning company at all. I’ll be all FlyLady and manage it all by myself due to being so organized, putting things away as soon as I’m finished with them.

The other extreme would be that I am organized and also have a weekly cleaning service…unfortunately, my budget just doesn’t allow this. Therefore, I look through Groupon, Angie’s List, Living Social, and Deal Chicken for coupons for my favorite house cleaning company. They aren’t available too often, but to me they are gold!

So, after frantically throwing papers in boxes and creating all new, harder to decipher piles, I left for work. I had earlier done a lot of sorting, so there were fewer papers to shove in corners, but none-the-less, this was not ideal. All day, I looked forward to walking in to my newly-cleaned home.

If it weren’t for my children, it would have been perfect. Even so it was almost-perfect. There were just a few dirty dishes scattered about. Otherwise, things were clean, dust-free, and all the beds had clean sheets. Heaven!

My long term goal, however,  is not just a clean house, but one free of clutter, not just on the surface, but throughout. I have a very long way to go, no matter how hard I work at it. It can be quite discouraging. I know that up in my attic I have my entire LP collection. I don’t know where it is and I fret that it is destroyed by heat. I know that in a small closet in the basement I have all my financial records for when I had to move out of my house for the renovations. Junk indeed, but I have to go through it before I can junk it.

I also know, that somewhere in the bowels of my Michigan basement, are my stability ball, my weight bench, and all of my barbells. It is a mission worth signing up for to get my fitness life in order. Aha, I’ve found a new goal, easy to fulfill, that will push me forward on my bigger de-cluttering goal! That’s how I roll, all multi-tasking mania!

Find the Joy in the Journey…Silver linings are there for the taking!

Leave a Reply

