2048: It’s Just A Number…Or Is It?

I started the week as just a normal human being. I arrived for the weekend at my sister’s with my girls in tow and ready to celebrate a bridal shower. All went off as planned, but in the meanwhile, I was introduced to an addictive gaming app.

Hey, do you know 2048? No, I don’t. Well, just sign up for free and start playing. We all love this game, and we all hate it. It’s as addictive as crack-cocaine and we have deleted it as often as we’ve downloaded it. Oh, really! And my genius, programming nephew conquered it immediately? Like a Rubick’s cube? I see…I’ve never mastered the Rubick’s cube, but I know there is a formulaic answer….one which I refuse to look up so that I can cheat.

I was up for the challenge and soon had the game downloaded onto my iPhone.  In this game, you start with a couple of two’s. If you click them together you get a four. And so it goes, as you click the tiles together you form higher and higher numbers. The goal is to get a tile denominated as a 2048. It is frustratingly difficult to get the necessary numbers next to one another and keep building up to higher and higher tiles.

Soon enough, I had downloaded the app and given it a try. Dang, I didn’t get very far. I tried again. And again, and again. The weekend ended and I returned home with only a meager high-score in the 7000’s. Throughout my week off of work, I tried it over and over again, and then one day it clicked.

I rhythmically bashed those tiles together in a sort of trance, not even noting the pattern I was making, just knowing that I was keeping the higher numbers along the top and repetitively building up the numbers from the bottom. I stopped trying to think through the process and instead went with the flow as I rhythmically built up my numbers.image

Time was going by without my noticing it…what seemed a mere few minutes turned out to be hours. Oh, but in the end it was worth it, wasn’t it? I got that elusive tile only to learn that I could keep going! I wondered if I could get to 4096! I didn’t…but I mastered 2048 and could do it again. I decided to hang up my spurs and move on to greener pastures.

There is something addictive about games, so I limit myself to a few. I play Scramble With Friends with just my sister. I play Words With Friends with several Friends. I like that Words doesn’t have the pressure of being timed, so I play more of those games and can do so more at my leisure. The only other game I play is Spider Solitaire…ironic given my phobia of spiders and having to look at them on the backs of the cards…it makes me feel like I’m conquering something, anyway.

So, 2048 is gone. I achieved my goal and moved on. I guess I wasted some of my vacation time, but it did help me to decompress, and maybe that’s just what I needed.

Find the Joy in the Journey…sometimes it’s okay to take a detour!

Leave a Reply

