Divergent and Integrated, That’s the Trick

This week is not going as planned, but that’s ok. Having given up on running this week due to a low-level virus, I found myself free to do some other things. On Wednesday, I participated in a fundraiser for the second year in a row. It is a wacky, trivia contest where the more money you’ve raised for the organization, the more you can “spend” to cheat your way to glory. My team came in a close second, but we had a lot of fun trying to answer increasingly obscure questions.

Out late and up early on Thursday did not help me feel any better, but it dawned on me that it was the first day to see the new movie Divergent. As with the recently released Catching Fire, the “sneak peek” shows start at 8 p.m. the day before the premiere. A useful fact when you don’t “do” midnight movies but your teen is obsessed with a book-turned movie and “must” see it as soon as it comes out.

I worried that I wouldn’t find tickets, and the regular show was sold out at the local theater. Fortunately there were still seats for the IMAX version, so I got those. We had assigned seating, which I was able to choose online when I bought the tickets. We were surprised to find that we got movie posters and bracelets. Sneak peek swag!20140326-222703.jpg

It was a long movie, but I’m glad we went. It was all we hoped for and fairly true to the book. The people in the story are divided into factions based on their having a specific character trait…and you should have only one. If you have more, you are a threat to the orderly running of society…a Divergent. My daughter likes to take the test in the back of the book to see what faction she belongs to and see that she is divergent. Of course, in our society, most people would end up Divergent.

Since I’ve been thinking a lot about the integration of my own life, it’s fun to tip that on its ear and proudly say I am a Divergent. I can have many characteristics integrated into a whole. I love the idea of being Dauntless, but I am not really that brave. Or am I? In some small ways, I do think I’m brave. I feel brave when I set out on a long run. I felt very brave when I pushed the publish button on my first post.

I see the other factions in myself as well. I am an honest person, almost to a fault, so Candor fits. I believe in service to others, so Abnegation fits to some extent. Erudite is probably where I’m most aligned, although they turn out to be the bad guys in the story…thinking that being smart is the most important trait and therefore giving them a mandate to take over the others. The last trait, Amity, fits me to some extent too. I think that a “peace keeper” tendency is common in middle-children.

Interesting to dissect the psyche and then put it back together again. Too much of one trait, even a “good” one, is not healthy. I like my path of finding a way to be both Divergent and balanced and integrated.

Find the Joy in the Journey…even the internal one!

Leave a Reply

