Seek and Ye Shall Find…Your Lost Flash Drive

Handing out the Halloween candy is not my favorite job. I’d rather be walking my younger daughter around the neighborhood (as long as it’s not raining), but she’s off with the family across the street and my husband and older daughter are busy putting the finishing touches on a college application that is due at midnight.

As I sit here writing this post, I wish I were plotting my next NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) moves, but alas, I’ve lost the last draft I made and despite many frantic searches over the last month, have not been able to locate the flash drive where it resides nor find any evidence that I backed it up anywhere for safe keeping. Kicking myself wouldn’t be productive, but it might make me feel a little better. Then again, maybe not.

I have saved, separately in order to maintain a true record of the last two NaNoWriMo’s, my first five chapters (2010) and my second five chapters (2011). I clearly remember that there were some disconnects in the timeline which I later went back and fixed. I think I also fixed the issue with two characters having the same name. I know I added at least two more chapters which really moved the action along and then I got to a point where I needed to sit back and figure out the ending and how to get to it.

That’s it. It’s on a flash drive somewhere. I’m not really sure what to do. I don’t want to re-do all the work I’ve lost, yet I’m afraid if I pick-up where I left off I’ll either never find the missing piece and have to redo it anyway or I’ll find it and have two disparate story lines.

As I sat near the door to be handy for the trick-or-treaters, I dragged out my “in” box…a nice enough artifact, but nothing like a real in-box. It had a year’s worth of stuff in it. I did find a notebook with some notes on the Campbell Hero Cycle and how I was trying to use it to frame my novel…but no flash drive.

Later on, my younger daughter and her friend came home and I remembered that we owed her friend some money for her “Thing 2” T-shirt. I dug through my wallet for some money and while I was at it, I decided to search my purse, once again, for the missing flash drive. I switched purses in May when I got this new, small, cross-body, bag. I’ve gone back to my old purse and searched it multiple times to no avail. This time, I searched the pouch-like outer pocket in my new purse where I primarily store my reading glasses.

I pulled out my glasses case, a couple of pens, a lip balm, and a $10 bill (yeah!). With all of those things on the floor, I reached to the bottom of the pocket and…pulled out my missing flash drive!!! I quickly plugged it into my laptop and a cursory look was disappointing. I didn’t have the file.

My daughter and her friend wanted to continue trick-or-treating, but the friend’s family had taken their younger girls home. I got my coat and shoes and we headed out in the dark in conquest of more candy. In the half-hour we were out, we found only 2 houses still participating. I dropped the friend at her grandmother’s house across the street and headed home with my daughter.

Home again, I surfed the newly-found flash drive some more. I opened my 2011 NaNoWriMo file and YES! I found the missing two chapters.  I would like to give attribution to Saint Christopher for helping out…but as I’ve totally mixed up my saints, I’m not sure what to think. You see, it is Saint Anthony who helps out with lost objects, not Saint Christopher…and I think there is something about Saint Christopher losing his sainthood…certainly a topic for another post. So, I’d just like to acknowledge, that saint or no, patron of lost objects, um, not…I did ask St. Christopher to help me out and since I did find my flash drive on the eve of NaNoWriMo…I want to give credit where credit is due!

Find the Joy in the Journey…and find solace and hope where you may!

One thought on “Seek and Ye Shall Find…Your Lost Flash Drive

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo–A No No | Laura's 50 by 50

Leave a Reply

